Eching near Munich
Portrait & leisure ideas

Cartoon

Only a stone's throw from Munich and the airport, close to the Autobahn and with suburban train connection, yet quietly located and surrounded by nature - this is the charming municipality of Eching. In Eching you can do sports to your heart's content and gourmets will find a wide range of culinary offerings. The area also has a lot to offer culturally, but that is by no means all.

Eching
© Gemeinde Eching

Pack your swimsuit!

In search for a place to cool off, the approximately 14,000 residents of Eching have a choice, as Lake Eching and Lake Hollern are both within walking distance.
Besides its bathing lakes, Eching is known for its numerous nature reserves: Garchinger Heide, Echinger Lohe, Mallertshofer Holz mit Heiden or the Isarauen - all reachable on foot or by bike in a few minutes.

Culture

The community center of Eching offers a packed cultural program throughout the year - from concerts and readings to cabaret. There is something for everyone.

In the village center there is also a minor sight. The Roman Catholic parish church of St. Andrew dates back to a Romanesque church building from the 12th century and is dedicated to St. Andrew the Apostle.

Work and shopping

Eching provides more than 6,000 jobs in a wide variety of industries. The proximity to the Technical University of Munich Garching gives local companies direct access to highly qualified employees in the technical and scientific fields.

In particular, Eching is known for its furniture retail. Mömax, POCO, Möbel Roller, KARE, Maisons du Monde, various specialty kitchen outlets and, of course, IKEA. In 1974, as the Swedish company started to expand to Germany, the choice of the first location fell on - exactly - Eching. So if you still need decorations or other utensils, you can go shopping in Eching to your heart's content.

Eching Freizeit

Leisure ideas

Eching and the region offer a very high quality of life and a wealth of leisure opportunities and sights. Discover a few of our personal highlights - all reachable within a 30 minutes' drive from Boardinghaus Eching.

Mallertshofer Holz Heidepfad
Gras-Ober, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Take a hike on the heath trail

The “heath trail” connects the nature reserves Echinger Lohe, Garchinger Heide and Mallertshofer Holz and features information panels about the flora and fauna as well as the cultural and landscape history. Put on your hiking boots and start the approximately 4-hour round trip directly from Boardinghaus Eching.

Lake Eching & Lake Hollern

From Boardinghaus Eching you can reach not only one, but 2 bathing lakes in less than 15 minutes by foot. Both feature crystal-clear water, extensive sunbathing lawns, beach volleyball court and barbecue areas. There is also a kiosk offering drinks and snacks!

Kiosk Hecht & Sonne am Hollerner See
Kiosk Hecht & Sonne am Hollerner See
Restaurant Akram's

Restaurant Akram's

Directly adjacent to Boardinghouse Eching you will find probably one of the most extraordinary restaurants in the region - "akram's", which is visible from afar at night. The restaurant is characterized not only by its excellent Euro-Asian cuisine, but also by its special ambience.

Brass Wiesn Festival

Once a year, thousands of brass music fans embark on a journey to the 4-day Brass Wiesn Festival at the Eching recreational area. A giant party for young and old and a great opportunity to get a taste of the Bavarian way of life.

Brass Wiesn Eching bei Nacht
© Veranstalter
Schlossanlage Schleißheim

Schleißheim palace & Flugwerft

The extensive palace complex in the neighboring town of Oberschleißheim is easily accessible by bike and invites you to sightsee and stroll around. Afterwards, a visit to the aviation museum Flugwerft Schleißheim, a branch of the famous Deutsches Museum, is worthwhile.

ESO Supernova Planetarium

By bike you can also easily reach the Planetarium & Visitor Center "ESO Supernova" at the headquarters of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Garching. Here you can immerse yourself in the fascinating world of the universe with all your senses.

ESO Supernova Planetarium
ESO/P. Horálek
Allianz Arena bei Nacht
Foto von Jonathan Pinto auf Unsplash

Allianz Arena

See a FC Bayern Munich game live, book a guided tour of the arena, or immerse yourself in the club's long history at Germany's largest club museum.

Weihenstephan Hill

The Weihenstephan Hill in Freising is home to the world's oldest brewery still in operation, the Weihenstephan Science Center, and the well-known gardens of the Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences. 

Brauerei Weihenstephaner
© Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan
Mariabrunn Wallfahrtskirche
Gras-Ober, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Pilgrimage to Mariabrunn

A great destination for a short bike tour is the idyllically situated pilgrimage site of Mariabrunn. Cure all your ailments with a sip from the healing spring and then enjoy a cool beer under the chestnut trees in the beer garden next door.

Therme Erding

With 35 saunas, 28 slides, 40 pools and a huge outdoor area, Therme Erding is the largest thermal spa in the world. Perfect for warming up on cold winter days.
Tip: The spa is very busy on weekends and holidays. If possible, visit during the week!

Therme Erding
© Therme Erding
Nymphenburger Schloss München

Nymphenburg Palace

You can find several palaces in the region around Eching, but the Nymphenburg Palace complex in Munich is one of our favorites. Alongside the numerous other sights of Munich, it is a highlight of any sightseeing tour.

Book your temporary home in Eching

Eching bei München
Porträt & Freizeitideen

Cartoon

Nur einen Katzensprung von München und Flughafen entfernt, direkt an der A9 und mit S-Bahn-Anschluss, dabei trotzdem ruhig gelegen und von Natur umgeben – das ist die beschauliche Gemeinde Eching im schönen Münchener Norden. In Eching können Sie nach Herzenslust Sport treiben und Genießer kommen beim reichhaltigen kulinarischen Angebot voll auf ihre Kosten. Auch kulturell ist einiges geboten, aber das ist noch lange nicht alles.

Eching
© Gemeinde Eching

Pack die Badehose ein!

Auf der Suche nach Abkühlung haben die etwa 14.000 Echinger die Wahl, denn die Erholungsgebiete Echinger und Hollerner See sind beide fußläufig erreichbar.
Neben den Badeseen ist Eching bekannt für seine zahlreichen Naturschutzgebiete: Garchinger Heide, Echinger Lohe, Mallertshofer Holz mit Heiden oder die Isarauen – allesamt zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad in wenigen Minuten erreichbar.

Kultur

Das Echinger Bürgerhaus bietet das ganze Jahr über ein prall gefülltes kulturelles Programm – von Konzerten, Lesungen bis zum Kabarett. Hier ist für jeden etwas dabei.

Von historischer Bedeutung sind insbesondere die Überreste von Schloss Ottenburg und die römisch-katholische Pfarrkirche St. Andreas, die auf einen romanischen Kirchenbau aus dem 12. Jahrhundert zurückgeht.

Arbeiten und Shopping

In Eching gibt es mehr als 6.000 Arbeitsplätze in den verschiedensten Industriezweigen. Die Nachbarschaft zur Technischen Universität München Garching ermöglicht den ortsansässigen Firmen einen direkten Zugang zu hoch qualifizierten Mitarbeitern im technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich.

Insbesondere bekannt ist Eching für seinen Möbelhandel. Mömax, POCO, Möbel Roller, KARE, Maisons du Monde, diverse Küchenfachmärkte und natürlich auch IKEA. Als das schwedische Unternehmen 1974 nach Deutschland expandierte, fiel die Wahl des ersten Standortes auf – genau – Eching. Falls Sie also noch Deko oder sonstige Utensilien benötigen, dann können Sie in Eching nach Herzenslust shoppen gehen.

Eching Freizeit

Freizeitideen

Eching und die Region bieten eine sehr hohe Lebensqualität und eine Fülle an Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Nachfolgend ein paar Highlights – alle innerhalb von maximal 30 Minuten Fahrzeit vom Boardinghaus erreichbar.

Mallertshofer Holz Heidepfad
Gras-Ober, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Wanderung auf dem Heidepfad

Der Heidepfad verbindet die Naturschutzgebiete Echinger Lohe, Garchinger Heide und Mallertshofer Holz mit Heiden und informiert Besucher an mehreren Stationen über die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt sowie die Kultur- und Landschafts­geschichte. Schnüren Sie Ihre Wanderschuhe und starten die etwa 4-stündige Rundtour direkt am Boardinghaus Eching.

Echinger & Hollerner See

Vom Boardinghaus Eching erreichen Sie nicht nur einen, sondern gleich 2 Badeseen in unter 15 Minuten zu Fuß. Beide verfügen über glasklares Wasser, ausgedehnte Liegewiesen, Beachvolleyballplatz und Grillzonen. Auch für das leibliche Wohl ist gesorgt!

Kiosk Hecht & Sonne am Hollerner See
Kiosk Hecht & Sonne am Hollerner See
Restaurant Akram's

Restaurant Akram's

Direkt am Boardinghaus Eching befindet sich wohl eines der außergewöhnlichsten Restaurants der Region – das in der Nacht schon von weitem sichtbare „Akram’s“. Dieses zeichnet sich nicht nur durch seine ausgezeichnete euro-asiatische Küche aus, auch das Ambiente ist besonders.

Brass Wiesn Festival

Einmal in Jahr pilgern tausende Blasmusikfans zum 4-tägigen Brass Wiesn Festival im Echinger Freizeitgelände. Neben der Musik ist jedoch insbesondere das Drumherum einzigartig! Eine Riesn-Gaudi für Jung und Alt und eine tolle Gelegenheit, bayerische Lebensart zu schnuppern.

Brass Wiesn Eching bei Nacht
© Veranstalter
Schlossanlage Schleißheim

Schloss Schleißheim & Flugwerft

Die weitläufige Schlossanlage im Nachbarort Oberschleißheim ist bequem per Rad erreichbar und lädt zum Besichtigen und Flanieren ein. Anschließend lohnt sich ein Besuch im Luftfahrtmuseum Flugwerft Schleißheim, einer Außenstelle des berühmten Deutschen Museums.

ESO Supernova Planetarium

Bequem per Fahrrad erreichen Sie auch das Planetarium & Besucherzentrum „ESO Supernova“ am Hauptsitz des European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Garching. Hier können Sie mit allen Sinnen in die faszinierende Welt des Universums eintauchen.

ESO Supernova Planetarium
ESO/P. Horálek
Allianz Arena bei Nacht
Foto von Jonathan Pinto auf Unsplash

Allianz Arena

Besuchen Sie ein Spiel des FC Bayern München, buchen eine geführte Tour durch die Arena oder tauchen ein in die lange Geschichte des Vereins im größten Vereinsmuseum Deutschlands.

Weihenstephaner Berg

Auf dem Weihenstephaner Berg in Freising sind die älteste noch bestehende Brauerei der Welt, das Wissenschaftszentrum Weihenstephan sowie die bekannten Schau- und Sichtungsgärten der Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf in unmittelbarer Nähe zu finden. 

Brauerei Weihenstephaner
© Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan
Mariabrunn Wallfahrtskirche
Gras-Ober, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Wallfahrt nach Mariabrunn

Ein tolles Ziel für eine kleine Radtour ist der idyllisch gelegene Wallfahrtsort Mariabrunn. Kurieren Sie all Ihre Leiden mit einem Schluck aus der Heilquelle und genießen anschließend eine kühle Maß unter Kastanien im Biergarten nebenan.

Therme Erding

35 Saunen, 28 Rutschen, 40 Pools und ein riesiger Außenbereich – das und mehr macht die Therme Erding zur größten Therme der Welt. Perfekt zum Aufwärmen an kalten Wintertagen.
Tipp: An Wochenenden und Feiertagen ist die Therme stark frequentiert. Wenn möglich unter der Woche besuchen!

Therme Erding
© Therme Erding
Nymphenburger Schloss München

Schlossanlage Nymphenburg

In der Region um Eching gibt es mehrere Schlösser, die Schlossanlage Nymphenburg in München gehört dabei jedoch zu unseren Favoriten. Neben den zahlreichen anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten Münchens, ein Muss für jede Sightseeing-Tour.

Buchen Sie Ihr Zuhause auf Zeit in Eching