• Post last modified:10. August 2021

Boardinghaus Eching is emphatically committed to protecting the climate and the environment. We have invested a lot in recent years to minimize our ecological footprint. For example, Boardinghaus Eching has been producing its own electricity for some time. Highly efficient and environmentally friendly. Do you know what a combined heat and power plant looks like and how it works? No? Then read on.

Our own power plant

May we introduce: our Vitobloc 200 EM-20/39 combined heat and power unit from Viessmann. It produces an electrical output of approx. 20 kW and, by means of cogeneration, a thermal output of 39 kW. Similar to a car engine, energy is generated by using a fuel. However, unlike the combustion engine in a car, the waste heat generated during combustion is fed into a connected (coupled) heating system and is thus used for heating and hot water. The fuel we use is climate-neutral eco-gas from the municipal utility Stadtwerke München. Climate-neutral because the CO₂ emissions generated are offset by emission reduction certificates. (https://www.swm.de/erdgas/oekogas)

Blockheizkraftwerk
Vitobloc 200 EM-20/39

Around half of the electricity generated in Germany is still produced by conventional power plants (including nuclear power plants). The average efficiency of even modern conventional power plants is less than 40 percent, which means that more than 60 percent of the energy used is released unused into the environment as waste heat.

A combined heat and power plant goes one step further here and uses the waste heat, which can increase the overall efficiency of the plant. In large-scale cogeneration plants, this is done via district heating pipelines. However, the potential is largely exhausted in existing power plants. After all, this is only possible if there are also large heat consumers, for example residential areas, in the vicinity of the power plant generating the electricity.

This is where the idea of decentralized, combined heat and power plants (CHP) comes into play: 

In comparatively small units, electricity is generated where the heat that is generated at the same time does not have to be transported over long distances (and therefore with high losses), but is consumed immediately. A large part of the losses in electricity distribution are also eliminated.

https://www.viessmann.de/de/gewerbe/kraft-waerme-kopplung/blockheizkraftwerk.html
EnergieeffizienzBKHW
WirkungsgradBHKW

Solar heat & photovoltaics

During the day, our solar heat system contributes to the hot water supply of the boarding house. In addition, our 3 PV systems generate CO2-free electricity with a combined maximum output of approx. 47 kW.
In order to cover the power supply of our apartments to the highest possible extent from self-generated electricity, 3 BYD energy storage units come into play, which together can store up to 42 kWh of electricity and store the surpluses in phases of low demand and compensate for the increased energy demand during peak loads.
On summer days, the production of electricity and hot water from these sources is high enough during the day that our combined heat and power plant is only in use for a few hours each morning and evening.

Solarmodule
Stromspeicher

So what do these figures mean in concrete terms?

On average, each person in Germany consumes about 1,300 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity per year, which corresponds to approximately 3.5 kWh per day. (Source: co2online.de)

Our combined heat and power plant operates at full capacity for an estimated 5,500 hours a year, generating over 100,000 kWh of electricity, enough for about 80 people. Our energy storage units, in turn, store enough energy to supply an average of 12 people with energy for an entire day. 

Taking into consideration that part of the daily energy and hot water consumption of our residents is generated off-site, this makes us largely self-sufficient in terms of electricity as well as hot water, even with full occupancy. 

In order to further reduce the ecological footprint of our guests, our new building was constructed in energy-saving KfW 55 efficiency house standard and has an individually adjustable ventilation system with heat recovery. In the event of a temporary shortage of power, the electricity produced in-house is supplemented by green electricity.

• Beitrag zuletzt geändert am:10. August 2021

Das Boardinghaus Eching bekennt sich ausdrücklich zum Schutz des Klimas und der Umwelt. Wir haben in den vergangenen Jahren viel investiert, um unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck zu minimieren. So produziert das Boardinghaus Eching zum Beispiel seit einiger Zeit seinen eigenen Strom. Hocheffizient und umweltschonend. Wissen Sie, wie ein Blockheizkraftwerk aussieht und funktioniert? Nein? Dann lesen Sie weiter.

Blockheizkraftwerk

Dürfen wir vorstellen: unser Vitobloc 200 EM-20/39 Blockheizkraftwerk der Firma Viessmann. Es produziert eine elektrische Leistung von ca. 20 kW und mittels Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung eine thermische Leistung von 39 kW. Dabei wird ähnlich wie bei einem Automotor durch den Einsatz eines Brennstoffes Energie erzeugt. Doch anders als beim Verbrennungsmotor im Auto, wird die Abwärme, die bei der Verbrennung entsteht, in ein angeschlossenes (gekoppeltes) Heizsystem eingespeist und dient so zur Heizung und Warmwasserbereitung. Als Brennstoff kommt bei uns klimaneutrales Ökogas der Stadtwerke München zum Einsatz. Klimaneutral deshalb, da die entstehenden CO₂-Emissionen durch Emissionsminderungs­zertifikate ausgeglichen werden. (https://www.swm.de/erdgas/oekogas)

Blockheizkraftwerk
Vitobloc 200 EM-20/39

Rund die Hälfte des in Deutschland erzeugten Stroms wird nach wie vor in konventionellen Kraftwerken (inkl. AKWs) produziert. Der durchschnittliche Wirkungsgrad liegt auch bei modernen konventionellen Kraftwerken bei unter 40 Prozent, was bedeutet, dass über 60 Prozent der eingesetzten Energie als Abwärme ungenutzt an die Umwelt abgegeben werden.

Ein Heizkraftwerk geht hier einen Schritt weiter und nutzt die Abwärme, wodurch der Gesamtwirkungsgrad der Anlage gesteigert werden kann. Bei Großheizkraftwerken geschieht dies über Fernwärmeleitungen. Das Potenzial ist im Bestand aber weitgehend ausgeschöpft. Schließlich geht das nur, wenn in der Nähe des stromerzeugenden Kraftwerkes auch große Wärmeverbraucher, zum Beispiel Wohngebiete, vorhanden sind.

Hier setzt die Idee von dezentralen, wärmegeführten Blockheizkraftwerken (BHKW) an: 

In vergleichsweise kleinen Einheiten findet die Stromerzeugung da statt, wo die zeitgleich anfallende Wärme nicht über weite Strecken (und damit verlustreich) transportiert werden muss, sondern unmittelbar verbraucht wird. Auch ein großer Teil der Verluste bei der Stromverteilung entfallen.

https://www.viessmann.de/de/gewerbe/kraft-waerme-kopplung/blockheizkraftwerk.html
EnergieeffizienzBKHW
WirkungsgradBHKW

Solarthermie & Photovoltaik

Tagsüber trägt unsere Solarthermie-Anlage zur Warmwasserversorgung des Boardinghauses bei. Hinzu kommt die CO2-freie Stromerzeugung unserer 3 PV-Anlagen mit einer Maximalleistung von zusammen ca. 47 kW.
Um die Stromversorgung unserer Appartements zu einem möglichst hohen Anteil aus selbst erzeugtem Strom zu decken, kommen 3 Energiespeicher der Firma BYD ins Spiel, die zusammen bis zu 42 kWh Strom speichern können und in Phasen mit geringem Bedarf die Überschüsse speichern und bei Lastspitzen den erhöhten Energiebedarf kompensieren.
An Sommertagen ist tagsüber die Produktion von Strom und Warmwasser aus diesen Quellen so hoch, dass unser Blockheizkraftwerk nur jeweils morgens und abends wenige Stunden in Betrieb ist.

Solarmodule
Stromspeicher

Was bedeuten diese Zahlen nun konkret?

Durchschnittlich verbraucht jede Person in Deutschland etwa 1.300 Kilowattstunden (kWh) Strom im Jahr, das entspricht ca. 3,5 kWh am Tag. (Quelle: co2online.de)

Unser Blockheizkraftwerk läuft im Jahr geschätzt 5.500 Stunden unter Volllast und generiert dabei über 100.000 kWh Strom, genug also für ca. 80 Personen. Unsere Energiespeicher wiederum speichern genug Energie, um damit im Schnitt 12 Personen einen ganzen Tag lang mit Energie versorgen zu können. 

Wenn man bedenkt, dass ein Teil des täglichen Energie- und Warmwasserverbrauchs unserer Bewohner außer Hauses anfällt, macht uns das hinsichtlich Strom sowie Warmwasser auch bei Vollbelegung weitgehend autark. 

Um den ökologischen Fußabdruck unserer Gäste weiter zu reduzieren, wurde unser Neubau im energiesparenden KfW-55-Effizienzhaus-Standard errichtet und verfügt über eine individuell einstellbare Lüftungsanlage mit Wärmerückgewinnung. Bei temporärer Unterversorgung wird der eigens produzierte Strom durch Ökostrom ergänzt.